# **Geoscience Canada**

# Geology of the Parliament Buildings of Canada: Series Update.

W. C. Brisbin, Graham Young et Jeff Young

Volume 32, numéro 4, december 2005

URI: https://id.erudit.org/iderudit/geocan32\_4ser04

Aller au sommaire du numéro

Éditeur(s)

The Geological Association of Canada

ISSN

0315-0941 (imprimé) 1911-4850 (numérique)

Découvrir la revue

#### Citer cet article

Brisbin, W. C., Young, G. & Young, J. (2005). Geology of the Parliament Buildings of Canada: Series Update. *Geoscience Canada*, *32*(4), 177–177.

All rights reserved © The Geological Association of Canada, 2005

érudit

Ce document est protégé par la loi sur le droit d'auteur. L'utilisation des services d'Érudit (y compris la reproduction) est assujettie à sa politique d'utilisation que vous pouvez consulter en ligne.

https://apropos.erudit.org/fr/usagers/politique-dutilisation/

#### Cet article est diffusé et préservé par Érudit.

Érudit est un consortium interuniversitaire sans but lucratif composé de l'Université de Montréal, l'Université Laval et l'Université du Québec à Montréal. Il a pour mission la promotion et la valorisation de la recherche.

https://www.erudit.org/fr/

# SERIES



# Geology of the Parliament Buildings 5: Geology of the Manitoba Legislative Building

# W.C. Brisbin<sup>1</sup>, Graham Young<sup>2</sup>, and Jeff Young<sup>1</sup>

<sup>1</sup>Department of Geological Sciences, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, MB R3T 2N2 jyoung@cc.umanitoba.ca <sup>2</sup>The Manitoba Museum, 190 Rupert Ave., Winnipeg, MB R3B 0N2

#### SUMMARY

The Manitoba Legislative Building was designed by Frank Worthington Simon, assisted by Henry Boddington III, architects from Liverpool, England. The building style is neoclassical, incorporating Greek, Roman and Egyptian motifs and elements. Construction was completed early in 1920 and the building was dedicated July 15, 1920, on the fiftieth anniversary of the Province.

The building is located in central Winnipeg, close to the north bank of the Assiniboine River and rests on 14 m of glacial Lake Agassiz clays over till and limestone bedrock. The mass of the building is supported by 421 concrete caissons that extend through the clays to indurated till or bedrock. Steel frames rest on the caissons and support bearing walls constructed of bricks manufactured from Manitoba shale and clay.

Dimension stones decorate the bearing walls inside and outside, and the floors and stairways within. Each type of stone has its own decorative characteristics and each records geologic processes at different times in Earth history. The predominant dimension stone both outside and inside the building is Manitoba Tyndall Stone. Grey, pink and red Tennessee marbles are from the southern Appalachians. Botticino marble was quarried in the foothills of the Alps in northern Italy. Ordovician black marble and Verde Antique are from the Vermont-New York region in the northern Appalachians. Missisquoi marble is from quarries in southern Québec near Philipsburg, and also represents a northern Appalachian source.

Bedford limestone, used for most of the statuary, is from south-central Indiana. Butler granite from Ignace, Ontario, was used for steps and floor surfaces of all four porticos. Red marble breccia, used to decorate most fireplaces, may have come from northern France.

### SUMMAIRE

L'édifice du Palais législatif du Manitoba a été conçu par Frank Worthington Simon, assisté de Henry Boddington III, deux architectes de Liverpool en

## Geology of the Parliament Buildings of Canada: Series Update.

The accompanying paper, "Geology of the Manitoba Legislative Building", by W.C. Brisbin, Graham Young and Jeff Young, is the 5<sup>th</sup> paper in this Geoscience Canada series.

The previous published papers in the series are:

- "Building Stones of Canada's Federal Parliament Buildings", by D.E. Lawrence, Vol 28, No 1, March 2001
- "Geology of the Alberta Legislative Buildings", by R.A. Burwash, D.M. Cruden and R. Mussieux, Vol 29, No 4, December 2002
- "Building Stones of Ontario's Provincial Parliament" by E.B. Freeman, Vol 30, No 2, June 2003, and
- "Geology of the Quebec Parliament Buildings" (in French) by R. Ledoux and H-L Jacob, Vol 30, No 4, December 2003

Five further papers are in various stages of completion: British Columbia, lead author Danny Hora; Newfoundland and Labrador, lead author Jeff Pollock; Nova Scotia, lead author Howard Donohoe; New Brunswick, lead author Gwen Martin; and the Northwest Territories, lead author DE Lawrence.

We are still looking for authors for the Parliament Buildings of Prince Edward Island, Saskatchewan, Yukon, and Nunavut. For those who may be interested, broad guidelines for the preparation of the papers are described by the Series Editor in an introduction to the first paper in the series, in Vol 29, No 1, March 2001.

If readers have any questions about the series, please contact the Series Editor, Doug VanDine, email vandine@islandnet.com, or telephone 250-598-1028.