Labour

Journal of Canadian Labour Studies

Le Travail

Revue d'Études Ouvrières Canadiennes



Canadian Committee on Labour History Annual General Meeting University of Regina, 28 May 2018

Volume 82, automne 2018

URI: https://id.erudit.org/iderudit/1058032ar DOI: https://doi.org/10.1353/llt.2018.0073

Aller au sommaire du numéro

Éditeur(s)

Canadian Committee on Labour History

ISSN

0700-3862 (imprimé) 1911-4842 (numérique)

Découvrir la revue

Citer ce document

(2018). Canadian Committee on Labour History Annual General Meeting University of Regina, 28 May 2018. *Labour / Le Travail*, 82. https://doi.org/10.1353/llt.2018.0073

All Rights Reserved © Canadian Committee on Labour History, 2019

Ce document est protégé par la loi sur le droit d'auteur. L'utilisation des services d'Érudit (y compris la reproduction) est assujettie à sa politique d'utilisation que vous pouvez consulter en ligne.

https://apropos.erudit.org/fr/usagers/politique-dutilisation/



Cet article est diffusé et préservé par Érudit.

Érudit est un consortium interuniversitaire sans but lucratif composé de l'Université de Montréal, l'Université Laval et l'Université du Québec à Montréal. Il a pour mission la promotion et la valorisation de la recherche.

MINUTES / PROCÈS-VERBAL

Canadian Committee on Labour History Annual General Meeting University of Regina, 28 May 2018

PRESENT:

Christo Aivalis (University of Toronto)

Dalton Campbell (Library and Archives Canada)

Rhonda Hinther (Brandon University)

Betsy Jameson (University of Calgary, Emerita)

Kathy Killoh (Athabasca University Press)

Candice Klein (Simon Fraser University/University of Saskatchewan)

Rob Kristofferson (Wilfrid Laurier University)

Peter McInnis (St. Francis Xavier University)

Jim Naylor (Brandon University)

Andrea Samoil (Simon Fraser University)

Joan Sangster (Trent University)

Charles Smith (Skype) (St. Thomas More College, University of

Saskatchewan)

Julia Smith (Rutgers University)

Trevor Stace (Wilfrid Laurier University)

Jeff Taylor (University of Manitoba)

REGRETS:

David Camfield, Kendra Coulter, Teresa Healy, Greg Kealey, Jason Russell, Toby Sanger, Mark Thomas, Steven Tufts, Miriam Wright

CHAIR: Andrea Samoil

RECORDING SECRETARY: Julia Smith for Ben Isitt

1. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Moved/seconded Christo Aivalis/Jim Naylor

2. APPROVAL OF 2017 AGM MINUTES

Moved/seconded Jeff Taylor/Christo Aivalis

3. TREASURER'S REPORT

Kathy Killoh for Greg Kealey

The CCLH financial situation continues to be healthy. *Labour/Le Travail* finances are also in fine shape. Several GICs are coming due and the money will likely be reinvested.

4. EDITORS' REPORT

Joan Sangster and Charles Smith

The editors thanked the previous editors and current members for subscribing.

SSHRC has a new process for funding journals:

- journals must now be open access after one year
- amount of funding per article has increased
- money available for innovation

These are positive changes for L/LT. Joan and Charles will work on the new application over the summer and submit it in August.

The stats for L/LT continue to be good. Submissions are down slightly. The rejection rate remains the same (30–35%).

The journal Scholarly Communications published an overview of *L/LT*.

The collaboration with CAWLS has been good. *L/LT* is receiving a good mix of articles from CAWLS members and labour historians.

The editors would like to receive more submissions, especially on social movements, Indigenous labour, unpaid labour, and domestic labour. They encouraged members to submit articles but reminded them that L/LT does not do theme issues with guest editors.

Book reviews are down. Book review editor Jim Naylor asked people to send suggestions for books and reviewers and reminded them to submit their reviews.

The editors thanked Bryan Palmer for arranging for the George Elliott Clarke poem that appeared is Issue #81. The editors would like to expand the number of cultural submissions received.

5. SOCIAL MEDIA COORDINATOR'S REPORT

Christo Aivalis

Christo has been focusing on the website but has also worked on the listserv and the Facebook page. Our Facebook page has seen an increase since Christo took up the position, rising from 100 to 600.

Over the next year, Christo plans to work on our Twitter profile. The SSHRC innovation fund could be a helpful opportunity to connect L/LT articles to current issues.

6. PRIZES

EUGENE FORSEY GRADUATE PRIZE: Julia Smith, "Union Organizing in the Canadian Banking Industry, 1940–1980," Trent University, 2016

EUGENE FORSEY UNDERGRADUATE PRIZE: The prize was not awarded this year due to a lack of submissions. The prize committee reminded members to encourage undergraduates to submit their work for consideration.

CCLH ARTICLE PRIZE: Lisa Pasolli and Julia Smith, "The Labor Relations of Love: Workers, Childcare, and the State in 1970s Vancouver, British Columbia," *Labor: Studies in Working-Class History* 14, no. 4 (2017).

7. REPORT ON SMALL GRANTS

Mikhail Bjorge (tabled)

Moved/seconded Jim Naylor/Betsy Jameson

8. UPCOMING EVENTS

CCLH Conference in Saskatoon, October 13-14, 2018

The conference committee (Andrea Samoil, Charles Smith, Joan Sangster, and Christo Aivalis) has been hard at work on the logistics, program, and website.

The draft program is now ready and will be released on the conference website soon.

Subsidies will be available for graduate students and people who are precariously employed.

Winnipeg General Strike Conference, May 8–11, 2019

Jim Naylor reported that the conference planning is going well.

Information is available on the conference website. The draft program will be available soon.

The conference will be part of a number of events in Winnipeg.

2019 Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences in Vancouver

The Executive encouraged people to submit papers and panels on labour history.

The incoming CCLH president will contact Vancouver folks to gauge interest in organizing a CCLH workshop.

9. PUB NIGHT

The CCLH-CAWLS pub night will take place on Wednesday, May 30 at 6:00 p.m. at Victoria's Tavern (1965 Hamilton Street).

10. ELECTIONS

Treasurer

Greg Kealey (acclaimed)

Nominated/seconded Christo Aivalis/Jim Naylor

Recording Secretary

Ben Isitt (acclaimed)

Nominated/seconded Joan Sangster/Christo Aivalis

Social Media Coordinator

Christo Aivalis (acclaimed)

Nominated/seconded Jim Naylor/Rhonda Hinther

First Vice-President

Andrea Samoil (acclaimed)

Nominated/seconded Julia Smith/Rhonda Hinther

President

Kirk Niergarth (acclaimed)

Nominated/seconded Joan Sangster/Jim Naylor

11. AOB

None.

12. ADJOURNMENT

Moved/seconded Christo Aivalis/Joan Sangster