Romanticism on the Net

Managing editor(s): Michael Eberle-Sinatra

Title followed by Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net


Romanticism on the Net (RoN) is an international, open access journal devoted to British Romantic literature. The journal was founded by Michael E. Sinatra in February 1996. It expanded its scope in August 2007 to include Victorian literature (under the editorship of Dino Franco Felluga and then Jason Camlot) and the new name Romanticism and Victorianism on the Net. In 2017, as the journal entered its third decade of publication, it reverted its scope back to Romantic literature, and expanded its core editorial team to include Chris Bundock, Julia S. Carlson, Nicholas Mason, and Matthew Sangster.

RoN remains committed to the principles of open access; accepted articles will join two decades of leading scholarship archived on the Érudit platform, from which they will be freely accessible worldwide in perpetuity. All submissions are rigorously peer-reviewed. The journal accepts contributions of between 6,000 and 12,000 words; as a digital publication, it offers authors the freedom to include unlimited illustrations and to embed other kinds of media.

Created in conjunction with the 2017 relaunch of the journal, NeuRoN: Digital Resources for Researching British Romanticism offers a central, stable, thorough, and up-to-date catalog of digital resources for students and scholars of British Romanticism. To be included in NeuRoN, an electronic archive, database, index, or edition must be nominally relevant to British literature and culture of the “Romantic Century” (1750-1850) and sufficiently reliable for classroom or research use. Coinciding with the release of NeuRoN, “Digital Reviews”, a new section of the journal dedicated to publicizing and evaluating the most important new digital scholarship by and for Romanticists, was launched at the same time.


Open access

The journal’s archives are offered in open access.

Back issues (40 issues)

Permanent archiving of articles on Érudit is provided by Portico.

Editorial policy and ethics

The editors welcome contributions to Romanticism on the Net (RoN) at the following address (email submission only):

Essays should be between 6000 and 12,000 words in length (including notes and works cited) prepared to the journal’s stylesheet. Please include an abstract, and a short biographical statement as well.

All submissions are rigorously peer-reviewed. In other words, articles submitted to the journal will normally be considered by at least two experts in the field, one of whom is a member of the International Advisory Board. These experts read submissions and write readers’ reports. About 35 percent of submissions have been published since the creation of the journal over twenty years ago. No multiple submissions are allowed; i.e articles should not be submitted to another academic journal simultaneously.

Please note that authors retain their copyright, and that articles are published under a CC BY-NC-SA 4.0 licence. Furthermore, RoN does not charge any type of article processing charge (APC) or any type of article submission charge.

Starting in January 2019 and issue #71, this WordPress site will be used for making articles available to readers as soon as they are ready, on a rolling release basis.

Editorial board

As Romanticism on the Net (RoN) began its third decade in 2017, some major editorial changes took place with the arrival of Julia S. Carlson (University of Cincinnati), Matthew Sangster (University of Glasgow), Chris Bundock (University of Essex), and Nicholas Mason (Brigham Young University). They join the journal’s founding editor, Michael E. Sinatra (Université de Montréal), as RoN‘s core editorial team.

Core Editorial Team:

  • Chris Bundock is Lecturer in Literature, Film, and Theatre at the University of Essex (UK). His research focuses on Romantic historiography, embodiment, the Gothic, and poetics. He is Secretary-Treasurer for the North American Society for the Study of Romanticism (NASSR).
  • Julia S. Carlson is Associate Professor of English at the University of Cincinnati.  She is the author of Romantic Marks and Measures: Wordsworth’s Poetry in Fields of Print (Penn Press, 2016), winner of the British Association for Romantic Studies First Book Prize (2017).  Her research areas include historical poetics, literature and cartography, print and material culture, and disability studies.
  • Nicholas Mason is Professor of English at Brigham Young University (USA) and author of Literary Advertising and the Shaping of British Romanticism (Johns Hopkins, 2012) and several scholarly editions of Romantic-era texts. His current research projects focus on the Romantic-era book trade, literary periodicals (especially Blackwood’s), and the Lakeland writings of William and Dorothy Wordsworth. He currently leads NASSR’s Book History Caucus.
  • Matthew Sangster is Lecturer in Eighteenth-Century Literature and Culture at the University of Glasgow (UK). His research centers on authorship, genre, institutions, library history, representations of London, and Romantic legacies.  He is website editor for the British Association for Romantic Studies (BARS), and technical editor for The BARS Review.
  • Michael E. Sinatra is Professor of English at the Université de Montréal (Canada). His research areas include digital humanities, Romantic-era popular culture, and the works of Leigh Hunt. He is founder and managing editor of RoN, founding director of the DH Center CRIHN, an associated fellow of the Canada Research Chair in Digital Textualities, and the current director of NINES.

Editorial Board: 

Amanda Anderson (Brown University); Nancy Armstrong (Duke University); Alan Bewell (University of Toronto); Laurel Brake (Birkbeck, University of London); Susan Brown (University of Guelph); Joseph Childers (University of California, Riverside); Jay Clayton (Vanderbilt University); Andrew Elfenbein, (University of Minnesota); Tim Fulford (De Monfort University); Hilary Fraser (Birkbeck, University of London); Neil Fraistat (University of Maryland); Michael Gamer (University of Pennsylvania); Regenia Gagnier (University of Exeter); Bruce Graver (Providence College); Elaine Hadley (University of Chicago); Nicholas Halmi (University College, Oxford); Antony Harrison (North Carolina State University); Jerrold E. Hogle (University of Arizona); Kevin Hutchings (University of Northern British Columbia); Gary Kelly (University of Alberta); Lorraine Janzen Kooistra (Ryerson University); George P. Landow (Brown University) ; Michael Levenson (University of Virginia); Alan Liu (University of California Santa Barbara); Laura Mandell (Texas A&M University); Jon Mee (University of York); Robert Miles (University of Victoria); Jeanne Moskal (University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill); Seamus Perry (Balliol College, Oxford); Leah Price (Harvard University); Nicholas Roe (St. Andrews University); Matthew Scott (University of Reading); Richard C. Sha (American University); Linda Shires (Stern College, Yeshiva University); Herbert Tucker (University of Virginia); Nicola Trott (Balliol College, Oxford); John Walsh (Indiana University); Susan J. Wolfson (Princeton University); Julia M. Wright (Dalhousie University); Duncan Wu (Georgetown University).