Managing editor(s): Thierry Rodon / Editor(s): Murielle Nagy (Rédactrice en chef)



Études Inuit Studies, a semi-annual scholarly journal, has published since 1977. It is devoted to studying traditional and contemporary Inuit societies from Greenland to Russia from a broad social science and humanities perspective (ethnology, politics, law, archaeology, linguistics, history, etc.). Over the years, the journal has become a central meeting point of a vast scientific communications network open to all disciplines and scientific horizons. Each volume contains articles, book summaries, science information and yearly reviews of doctoral theses and articles that have appeared in other journals.

Guidelines for Authors


  • Abstracts in Anthropology
  • America: History and Life
  • Anthropological Literature
  • Bibliographie internationale d'anthropologie sociale et culturelle / International Bibliography of Social and Cultural Anthropology
  • Bulletin signalétique (ethnologie)
  • Historical Abstracts
  • MLA International Bibliography,
  • (UN) Monthly Bibliography II: Selected Articles
  • Sociological Abstracts
  • Repère


Journal's Site


Contact the journal

  • Email: etudes.inuit.studies@fss.ulaval.ca
  • Phone: 418-656-2353

Digital Subscription


Érudit is not responsible for individual subscriptions management. Please contact the journal for an individual subscription.

Print Subscription

  • Email: etudes.inuit.studies@fss.ulaval.ca
  • Phone: (418) 656-2353

Back issues (23 issues)

Permanent archiving of articles on Érudit is provided by Portico.

Editorial board


Christopher Fletcher


Managing Editor

Aurélie Maire


Assistant Managing Editor

Amélie Breton


Editorial Board

Bernard Saladin d’Anglure

Caroline Hervé

Frédéric Laugrand


Editorial Committee

Anna Hudson, York University

Caroline Desbiens, Université Laval

Caroline Hervé, Université Laval

Christopher Fletcher, Université Laval

Claudio Aporta, Dalhousie University

Frédéric Laugrand, Université Laval

Gérard Duhaime, Université Laval

Heather Igloliorte, University of Concordia

Mélanie Lemire, Université Laval

Najat Bhiry, Université Laval

Paule Halley, Université Laval


International and Circumpolar Committee

Ann Fienup-Riordan, Anchorage, Alaska

Cunera Buijs, Research Center for Material Culture, Netherlands

Frank Tester, University of Manitoba & University of British Columbia

Igor Krupnik, Arctic Studies Center, Smithsonian Institution, Washington DC

Karla Jessen Williamson, University of Saskachewan

Lawrence Kaplan, University of Alaska, Fairbanks

Naullaq Arnaquq, Governement of Nunavut

Nobuhiro Kishigami, National Museum of Ethnology, Japan

Sean Guistini, Nunavut Arctic College

Søren T. Thuesen, University of Copenhagen, Denmark

Vladimir Randa, LACITO-CNRS, France


Administrative Secretary

Diane Mathieu