Cinémas Revue d'études cinématographiques Journal of Film Studies

Managing editor(s): Richard Bégin



CiNéMAS is a specialty journal primarily concerned with cinematographic studies and theoretical or analytical projects that embrace different approaches, methods and disciplines (aesthetics, semiotics, history, communications, human sciences, art history, etc.) likely to stimulate reflection. Particular attention is given to research into the changes underway with regard both to creative practices and theoretical discourse.


Film Literature Index
International Index to Film Periodicals (published by the FIAF)
Media Review Digest
MLA International Bibliography (Modern Language Association of America)
Google (general)
Google Scholar

The long-term archiving of CiNéMAS is carried out by Portico.


Journal's Site



514 343-6111 ext. 3684


Mailing address

Revue Cinémas
Université de Montréal, Pavillon Lionel-Groulx
Case postale 6128, succursale Centre-ville
Montréal (Québec) H3C 3J7

Civic address

Revue Cinémas
Université de Montréal, Pavillon Lionel-Groulx
3150 rue Jean-Brillant, 2e étage, local c-2168
Montréal (QC) H3T 1N9

Back issues (56 issues)

Permanent archiving of articles on Érudit is provided by Portico.


Digital Subscription


Phone: 514 343-6111 ext. 5500

Érudit is not responsible for individual and print version subscriptions management. Please contact the journal.

Print Subscription

On the SODEP website:

Phone: 514 397-8669

Editorial policy and ethics

The editorial process at CiNéMAS has six steps: (1) Anonymous peer review; (2) revision of the article by the author in response to the evaluators’ reports; (3) examination of the revised version of the article by the Editorial Committee; (4) copy-editing and conformance to bibliographical style; (5) layout and proofreading; and (6) author approval of the final version of the article.

Under the peer review system, which guarantees the equity and uniformity of the process, every manuscript submitted for consideration is sent to a minimum of three (3) readers who are members of the Management Committee, the Editorial Committee or the Reading Committee. Each evaluator receives clear instructions, accompanied by an evaluation form divided into five (5) sections. The evaluator is invited to express his or her opinion on the article’s fit with the journal (and with the thematic section, as the case may be); to evaluate the text’s scholarly qualities and originality; to judge the quality of the writing and style; to suggest possible modifications and corrections; to determine the strong and weak points of the article; and to make a final recommendation. A period of two weeks (which can be extended upon request) is granted to evaluators so that they may give the text a close reading, carry out the research necessary to verify the accuracy of the author’s theses and express a well thought out opinion.

A minimum of two (2) favourable opinions is required for the article to be accepted for publication. In the case of a divergence of opinions, other evaluations are sought. The final decision is made by the editors of the journal, who inform the author of their decision within three (3) months of receipt of the manuscript. At that time, the journal’s editors provide the author with copies of the peer reviews. The author must review his or her text in such a way as to take into account the comments of each evaluator and modify it accordingly within the time allowed. The second version of the manuscript is examined by a member of the journal’s Management Committee, who can ask for further revision. The manuscript is then copy-edited and made to conform to the journal’s bibliographical style. After proofs are prepared and corrected the final version is forwarded to the author for approval.

Any article submitted to the journal must be, in its entirety, original and previously unpublished, in any format and any language. It must not violate any existing copyright and cannot contain any illegality.

Any reference to earlier publications should be clearly identified. The plagiarism of others leads to the immediate rejection of the article. In the case of inadvertent self-plagiarism discovered prior to publication, the author will be required to make the necessary corrections so that his/her text meets the journal's policy. If the plagiarism is discovered after the publication of the article, the journal will issue a public communiqué, take the necessary steps to clearly identify the text concerned and report the situation to the author's home institution and to the organizations funding his/her research, where appropriate.

The author, while retaining copyright, grants the publisher an exclusive license to reproduce or authorize the reproduction of his/her article in any format and any language worldwide. The author is not allowed to archive his/her article in a publicly accessible institutional repository.

Article submission guidelines

Editorial board

Editor in Chief

Richard Bégin

Managing Editor

Marnie Mariscalchi

Editorial Board

Richard Bégin (Université de Montréal)
Marta Boni (Université de Montréal)
Viva Paci (Université du Québec à Montréal)
Joëlle Rouleau (Université de Montréal)
Louis-Paul Willis (Université du Québec en Abitibi-Témiscamingue)

Editorial Committee

François Albera (Université de Lausanne, Suisse)
Édouard Arnoldy (Université Lille 3, France)
Alain Boillat (Université de Lausanne, Suisse)
Marta Braun (Ryerson University, Canada)
Donald Crafton (University of Notre Dame, États-Unis)
Laurent Creton (Université Paris 3, France)
Vinzenz Hediger (Goethe Universität, Allemagne)
Martin Lefebvre (Concordia University, Canada)
Laurent Le Forestier (Université Rennes 2, France)
André Loiselle (Carleton University, Canada)
Philippe D. Mather (University of Regina, Canada)
Francesco Pitassio (Università degli studi di Udine, Italie)
Dana Polan (New York University, États-Unis)
Àngel Quintana (Universitat de Girona, Espagne)
Daniel Sánchez-Salas (Universidad Rey Juan Carlos, Espagne)
Haidee Wasson (Concordia University, Canada)

Scientific Committee

The scientific committee is determined by the themes covered by the journal.


Michel Larouche
Denise Pérusse